Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Artie Beaty/ZDNET

If you’re a Google One subscriber, you probably know that one of the benefits included with your subscription is dark web monitoring (along with additional storage, access to Magic Editor, AI Premium, and more). 

The dark web monitoring feature keeps track of the dark web — sites not indexed by search engines and only accessible via specialized browsers — for personal information such as your Social Security number, address, email, phone number, and birthday. If Google finds your information, you’ll receive an alert and advice on what to do next.

Also: Cybersecurity 101: Everything on how to protect your privacy and stay safe online

Since the service’s debut, Google has limited dark web monitoring to customers who pay between $2 and $20 per month, depending on their plan. Google plans to roll out the service to all its consumer accounts later this month.

First spotted by 9to5Google, subscribers who log in to their Google One accounts have started seeing a message that dark web monitoring is going away in late July, with a link to learn more. Clicking the link leads to an explanation from Google that says, “Dark web report will no longer require a Google One membership. All users signed into their Google Accounts can use the feature as it’s made available.”

Google offers dark web monitoring in addition to its “Results about you” page, which lets you find and remove search results that contain your personal contact info. The company’s dark web monitoring is significantly more robust, however, and searches places that “Results about you” does not. If you’d rather not participate, you can delete your profile from the dark web monitoring dashboard.

Google didn’t offer an exact date for when the company will extend the dark web monitoring service to all accounts, but we’ll let you know when it does.



error: Content is protected !!